My Christianity Problem, ctd.

I’m beginning to think I wrote a litmus test, not a blog post in Monday’s “Wherein I Confess To My Christianity Problem.” In comments I’ve received in private conversations, here on this blog, on Facebook and on Bilerico where I cross posted, the discussion has been interesting, to say the least.

Some people seem to only see my anger at Christians and cheer me on. Others say I’m stereotyping Christians and boo me. Still others say I’m stuck in the delusion that I must be OK with everyone no matter what they do to me. One guy at Bilerico called me a loser.

If I’m getting this right, in his eyes I’m a loser because I acknowledged that Christians can be people, too. (The folks at Bilerico appear to have removed his comment, so I can’t verify.) A dear, dear friend says she read my post three or four times and saw something different each time. She moved from being upset with me because of my anger to something close to understanding my point, although she admitted that our lengthy personal conversation helped her get it.

My reactions to all of this? (a) I’m pleased people are reading the essay. (b) How could I have written so poorly that people keep getting something different out of it? Why do they keep missing my intention? (c) The concept I attempted to get across must be really, REALLY hard to grasp. (Either that, or I need to bounce back to “B.”)

A couple of interesting links have popped up.

Philip shouts “Bravo” and writes:

Christianity would indeed be a living tradition if instead of looking at how we can use the Bible as a weapon of mass destruction to spread discrimination, we could seek to help people get along with each other and let each other be who we are.

Also thanks to D. Gregory Smith for the link.

This entry was posted in Becoming Good, religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Christianity Problem, ctd.

  1. Susan Cooper says:

    Diane:

    I don’t think that you wrote at all poorly! I read your blog right after you posted it and since then I have been thinking about the points you raised and the personal revelation you shared. Instead of “poorly” I think that in fact you wrote with a great deal of depth, attempting a difficult feat of self-examination while describing events that have been quite emotional turning points in your life. You brought together very disparate concepts and connected them in an unexpected way.

    My personal opinion is that because you did this well, you are getting many interpretations of your blog piece. You’ve challenged some readers in ways that have made them feel quite uncomfortable. I think that is one very good reason for writing a blog like yours.

    Do I agree with everything that you post? No. But I do usually appreciate the candor with which you treat your subjects, the courage you display in putting out to the world your thoughts, and the difficult questions you ask us to ponder.

  2. Sabrina Channel says:

    It is truly amazing how our experience shape our beliefs and our beliefs act as the lenses through which we see our experiences and world. The key is to always challenge our beliefs to see if they work for us today as much as they did when they were forming. I tend to believe there is a huge distinction between a single person who is a Christian and the pulpit beating hell fire and brimstone preaching hate instilling so called leader who needs to shout the loudest just to prove to him/herself that their belief is strong enough. Two things: I want to say it was Maya Angelou who said that no one is a Christian, because to be a Christian one would have to be like Christ, and that is very difficult for our human nature to be. Instead of claiming herself to be Christian, she says she works each day to act as much like her savior, Jesus Christ. ( on a personal note I just though that was a fabulous way of being humble and claiming her imperfections while still holding to her Truth) Secondly, Thank you Diane for sharing a part of who you are and openly discussing your views, I think if more people evaluated their thoughts and took the time to understand the motives of their actions whether they stem from a need for safety, security or to fill a void of sorts we could all benefit.

  3. I appreciate the frustration, fear and honesty in your writing- that means it’s deeply human to me, and I always want to applaud that when I see it.
    XO,
    ~G

Leave a Reply

