Taking Time To Think

My immediate reaction to the Tucson shootings was to post the instant I heard, except that the only thing I wanted to do was to howl with fury and point fingers. I was spitting fire, and I could think of no way to write even a single sentence without stepping far, far off the goodness path. So, I posted nothing. And waited for wisdom.

I’m still waiting. I’m searching for some spark of goodness in what happened, or at least for goodness in the aftermath. I’m beginning to see glimmers of something, but it isn’t clear yet, at least not in my mind. So, I ask for your indulgence. I need time to think and consider. Immediate reactions to such a horror are too full of pain (and fear). Every time I act out of such feelings, I fall down the rabbit hole and turned into someone I do not like. That me becomes enamored of retribution, nastiness seems right and true, anger and striking out become the only ways to live.

I have come across some good posts, more so in the last few hours than immediately after the shootings. So far the best is from Gary Mackender, who lives in Tucson and is part of an effort to react to the shooting by spreading intentional acts of kindness.

Finally, my thoughts and prayers go out to those who were in the Safeway parking lot on Saturday. May the wounded find quick and complete healing. May the dead be at peace. May all of their families get the support, love and comfort they need. We are all citizens of Arizona today.

**

A heartfelt thank you to my friend Marcia Epstein, who runs Headquarters Counseling Center in Lawrence, Kan. I bumped into her in the supermarket right after the shooting on Saturday. She got me talking about Christmas and back onto the goodness path.

******

Like the Search for Goodness on Facebook.

This entry was posted in Politics, Practicing Goodness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taking Time To Think

  1. Kelley says:

    Sometimes it really is a good idea to wait and listen for what comes to us.
    I love Gary’s blog…and yours…

  2. Barry says:

    It takes a little scratching beneath the surface to find goodness, but it is there. There are numerous accounts of heroic acts to save people’s lives. Rep. Giffords’ aide saved her life by holding her in a position where she could breathe and not bleed out, and at least one of those who died did so in the act of saving his wife’s life. The world learned about the life of an amazing little girl, whom we can hope will serve as an inspiration for other children to live righteous lives. The children are our hope. We witnessed a very courageous sheriff calling out the purveyors of hatred and advocating for a return of some civility to our political discourse. Whether or not it is obvious, people of all political stripes are doing some important soul searching right now.

    I can relate to your struggle. I’ve been weepy every since it happened, moreso than I was with OKC or 9/11, perhaps because I now have children. Possibly that has given me the space to see the goodness, because all of the goodness cited in this post was accompanied by lotsa tears as I learned of it and processed it. In the meantime, quietly waiting can be a good thing. If we had more of that in our nation, perhaps this tragedy would not have happened.

  3. I’d like to see a halt in the use of violent metaphors like “target” and “take ‘em out” and so forth in the political world. It’s time we expressed our disagreements in language that didn’t imply full scale war and violence.

    I agree about taking time to calm down, but I don’t think that means we have to be neutral to the point of the ridiculous. Paul Krugman’s column this morning had a reasoned discussion of how the toxic debate contributes to a greater risk of violence in our society.

  4. Rob Ramcharan says:

    I feel better, knowing that at least one liberal blogger and her readers are not looking around for someone other than the alleged shooter to blame.

  5. Pingback: Days 184 – 222: The Log | In Search of Goodness

Leave a Reply

