Stalking the Wild Interview

My first official interview for The Goodness Project is set for tomorrow with Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, poet laureate of Kansas. I’ve got another interview scheduled at the end of June with Zen Master Hae Kwang and Ji Do Poep Sa Nim (Dharma Master) Judy Roitman.

This is a tiny start because there are so many more people I want to interview, from the famous to the everyday. I’d love to interview the heads of the Southern Baptist Convention, the Episcopal Church and the United Church of Christ, to name just a few.  I want to talk to The Dalai Lama and The Rev. Fred Phelps or Shirley Phelps of Westboro Baptist Church infamy, and no, I’m not kidding about Phelps. I would love to understand their take on goodness. They picket funerals and say God hates the United States, soldiers, Jews and gays. What DO they think is good?

I’d also like to interview Karen Armstrong, Michael Sandel and Sam Harris. I want to talk to Robert Wright and other historians who have studied the evolution of morality. I want to talk to Islamic clerics and Jewish rabbis. I’m also setting my sights on neuroscientists, psychologists and sociologists who study religion, morality and the human brain.

Do you want to argue with me about my list? Feel free. The more discussion the better. More importantly, who do you think I should interview for this quest? I’m looking for names of the famous, the infamous and the unknown. Do you know someone who personifies goodness? Someone else with a unique perspective? Let me know!

This entry was posted in Interviews, The Quest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

