Day 10 – The Log

On the goodness trail today…

I had a terrific conversation over lunch with Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg about all things good, evil and poetic. I’m transcribing the recording and hope to have a report and transcript posted early next week.

I spent much of the rest of the day on income-generating work, and income is a very good thing.

But most interestingly, something’s going on inside of me. I haven’t sat with this enough to be able to describe it. All I’ve got right now is a gut feeling, but there’s something about  a quest for goodness that I hadn’t considered. I’m only 10 days into this thing, and I feel like I’m changing. I kid you not. Something’s getting better. For want of a better word, something inside feels, well,  good.

I’m no saint. Far from it, but every day I spend a minimum of an hour contemplating the meaning of goodness, thinking about examples of goodness, doing all sorts of things good. Could the fact that I’m doing that actually make me a different person? I know that since I started this project, I’m more aware of good actions and of good and kind thoughts vs. nasty and destructive ones. I feel like I’d be far more embarrassed now if I were caught falling into the non-good.

Is it the fact that I’ve made this quest public that makes me more aware of the good? Is it the fact that  I’m spending time on goodness each day? What the heck is going on inside?

This entry was posted in Daily Log. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 10 – The Log

  1. Isn’t it wonderful how diving seriously into something important can change you, if you’re open to it?

  2. dianesilver says:

    This certainly caught me by surprise! It also makes me wonder if one of the paths for people to take to goodness is to simply spend a little bit of time on the topic every day. Does our society’s current infatuation with cynicism make it harder for us to be good, do good, make a better world?

  3. Pat Murphy says:

    Hmm. If thinking about goodness makes you feel different, is there as reason for those little books of daily affirmations, which I always thought of as terribly hokey?

  4. dianesilver says:

    I had forgotten about this until you mentioned it, Pat, but years ago I picked up a not-so-hokey book called “365 Tao” because I wanted to learn about Taoism. It seemed like an easy task to read one short quote and commentary each day. Oddly enough, reading one quote a day and contemplating it did help me feel differently. Very interesting.

  5. I suspect that the hokey books wouldn’t work all that well, especially if you’re a bit cynical and annoyed by simplistic answers. But thinking about more complex ideas — say reading excerpts from the Tao te Ching and meditating on them — probably would have a similar effect. Certainly yoga practice and meditation do that.
    I know Aikido training has changed my life and the way I think about things in ways I never intended when I started out in the martial arts. In fact, Diane, my initial reaction to your post was to go “hee, hee, hee.” It doesn’t surprise me a bit that investigating things from the goodness point of view is changing how you look at things.

Leave a Reply

