The Goodness of Travel

Photo of a jetWhenever I take a trip, whether for pleasure or business, I set a goal for myself before I leave. (Obviously, I lean toward obsessiveness, but that’s a topic for another day.) As I pack my bags or board the plane, I ask myself a question or formulate a problem to solve, and then I forget about it until I’m heading home.

I’ve done this for years. The results can be surprising. The answers I get when I board the return flight feel deep-in-the-gut right. When I take action based on those answers, the results are always delightful. I suspect this method of problem solving works so well for me because it jars my brain, which has a tendency to run in circles, out of chasing its tail. New insights come because I let go of my obsessions for a bit.

Today I’m leaving for a seven-day jaunt to the West Coast. Most of this trip is business, including a conference at Stanford University on The Future of Freelancing.

The questions I’ve given myself for this trip are: How much risk should I take in this quest for goodness? What’s the next step?

To help myself answer those questions, I’m sending my mind on a vacation from writing about goodness. Hence, I’m taking a seven-day break from updating this blog. I’ll let you know what answers come to mind when I get back to Kansas.

See you all on the 24th!

This entry was posted in Daily Log, The Quest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Goodness of Travel

  1. KJ says:

    Have a wonderful trip, Diane!

Leave a Reply

