Another Act of Goodness

As I continue my search for goodness, I’m hearing more stories about generosity and kindness. Writing on my Facebook page, Kathy M. Dubos-Overall reports:

see, that is all it takes is just simple things. like the homeless man that I know is homeless, and when I saw him I turned around and went back to the store and bought him a bag of groceries of a few items in each food area so he could eat…, plus water to drink. When I saw him he smiled, cried and couldn’t say thank u enough

…another time, or should I say times; the many homeless that my husband and myself have taken into our home (and a couple of them not knowing at all). They stayed here, we feed them, they had a place to call home — some got on their feet and some just left. This we would do again. Have even helped w/family members that were homeless, and our kids friends that were kicked out of their homes. we have to show kindness, love and whatever else u want to add on to everyone

Judging by Kathy and Marcia’s stories, the human race isn’t filled to the gills with heartless fools as some might have us believe. I’m so pleased the cynics are wrong. Do you have a story? I’d love to hear it. From the small act to the lengthy commitment of time and money: Tell us about a feat you either did or witnessed.

And I’d love to hear how you define an act of goodness. How do we know when we’re actually doing good, as opposed to mucking up someone’s life? For example, should we always give to a person begging on the street as a good friend does, or are we only providing money to someone who will later blow it on booze or drugs? Even if that’s true, who are we to judge? How do we know when it’s right to intervene? Does “helping out” ever hurt?

This entry was posted in Goodness Personified and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Act of Goodness

  1. Kathy Dobos says:

    Diane,
    In regards to helping out with your one question I will answer with this: Yes sometimes we do get hurt (and it can really bad within your own heart because you have loved someone that you have taken in).
    This one young man that we had living with us, he was here twice; he came from Ohio.
    His life was so messed up and we really went out of our way to help him, he wasn’t used
    to having guidelines to follow- the first time he left it was because he was mad). OK, that was alright but at that time he took some money from my son and something else.
    Then the next time he had come back and lived with us, he was here for a long time. Before he had gotten here this time he had finished school and got his grad. certificate (he wanted us to be proud of him) and we were. He was like another son for me, and I had learned so much about his life and omg if I were to tell you what he had gone through you would wonder why an adult (s) would do the things to a little boy as he had
    done to him. He learned to live on the streets in Ohio, in a gang and so on. He shared
    so much with me (and he called me mom) and of course my husband dad, but could talk with me the most. Anyway, this time he didn’t get a job and go out and work (he was here for a long time, even bought him a bed (in his words “this is the first time I ever had
    my own bed, and to sleep in one”).
    I had to go to Howell to watch my grandson’s why my daughter’s in-laws were out of town (they live next door and usually watch the little guy), anyway I had had a feeling at the week before I had left that someone should be at home while this young man was going to journey back on the train to Ohio. My neighbor took him to the station, the day
    he was to leave.
    When I got home things looked ok, until I started noticing things gone: such as all of my son’s money, his i-pack, his (can’t think of what called) but box that hooks up to tv and u can put in a dvd to play games on. At the same time he had taken and I do not
    know how many (more than 20 I would have to say, DVD’s of ours, plus some other things.
    He had come a long way with us, but in this end had let us down, I think me especially because I loved this young man as a son. I still think of him to this day, and I ask for God to forgive him, and I even ask for him to look over him and pray that he will change his lifesytle.
    This was one of the biggest hurts I had felt, but it won’t stop me from helping with taking in another stranger (but first with some guidlines).

    Thanks for doing this story of mine, and I also hope that this gives you an insight also.
    Sincerely,
    Kathy Dobos

Leave a Reply

