The Meditation and Pray-a-thon ctd.

An interesting thing happened in meditation this morning. As often occurs, a thought leaped into my brain and made me look: I don’t have to struggle, I thought. For the rest of this meditation, I can just be. No worries. No wrestling over how to pay the bills. No nothing. Let go.

And so I did, for a whole nanosecond.  Maybe 2 seconds at most. But for that flash of time everything was OK. Even I was OK. For that instant, I was worthy, whole and good. I didn’t have to prove anything to anyone, least of all me.

And then I realized what I was doing. The feeling vanished. I struggled mightily to get it back, and of course, the sense of peace was gone. For me, this is the frustrating/joyful aspect of meditation. Every time I get “there,” my inner general jumps to his feet and starts marshaling my inner army to make certain that I can control the feeling/insight. And of course, you can’t let go by tensing up.

But there is another aspect of this morning’s blissful second that seems important, particularly to the quest for goodness. For that single instant, I felt like I was good. I don’t mean, Hey wow, look at what a great meditator I am. I mean, OMG, I am a good person. I felt the goodness inside of me. I felt the goodness that is me.

So, what am I doing every other second of the day? Is every striving for success an effort to prove to myself that I’m good? What energy am I wasting by doing that? And am I only one?

What are we all wasting? And, most important of all, if we are constantly struggling to prove our goodness to ourselves, how are we setting ourselves up to fail? What would happen if we just believed we are good?

* * * * *

Come join/like my In Search of Goodness Facebook page. Help me get a book contract for the search for goodness by clicking “Like.”

This entry was posted in Practicing Goodness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Meditation and Pray-a-thon ctd.

  1. Kelley says:

    If we believe that the Divine is truly within us, then how could be otherwise?

  2. Rob Ramcharan says:

    “There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
    Than are dreamt of in your philosophy. ”
    Hamlet I,v.

    Just sayin’…

  3. dianesilver says:

    And I love you sayin’ it, Rob and Kelley.

  4. Linda Herzberg says:

    Are you saying that if we knew we were good we would not strive as hard. Or are you saying we strive to prove we are good instead of just striving to be the best we can. I think that we waste a lot of time beating ourselves up for not being good enough. I know that I am my worst critic and I wish I could stop that. I am working on it, but it seems I was brainwashed to think that I will never be good enough. In this case good enough is not the same as goodness. That is – goodness in an part of us and good enough relates to what we are trying to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

