The Barriers to Action

This video is a good companion to my previous post. Here political activist Dave Meslin talks about the barriers that keep us from working to change the status quo, even when we want to change it. He’s talking about agitating for changes in our cities, but his comments are also relevant to the national stage, where such issues as war play out. This video is only 7 minutes long. It’s well worth watching.

This entry was posted in Becoming Good, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Barriers to Action

  1. I particularly liked what he said about how our culture reinforces the idea of “chosen ones” as heroes. It does make those of us who’ve never been chosen by anybody doubt that we can be leaders.

    BTW, is there someplace on the TED site where they provide transcripts of those talks? I’d really like to read them instead of listening, for the most part. I know the presentation is sometimes very important to what someone is saying, but it takes too long to watch all those pieces — I can skim a transcript much faster and figure out whether I want to hear more.

  2. dianesilver says:

    Yup, I always had trouble with that chosen one thing, given that I was never chosen for a thing, not even when kids with picking sides to play a softball game at school. Of course, women are by definition not “chosen,” at least not in old stories, so that in itself writes more than half the world’s population out of the category of change agent.

    Alas, there are no TED transcripts. I checked on their website, and they said they planned to post transcripts in a few months.

    • Yeah, women are rarely the “chosen one.” (Sigh on the transcripts. The videos you post often look interesting, but I rarely want to take 18 minutes to watch one, unless I know I’m going to hang on every word.)

  3. dianesilver says:

    FWIW, when I post a video, I’m almost always hanging on every word in it, but them I’m a HUGE fan of TED talks.

Leave a Reply

