19 Days Left and More on Bradshaw

I’m down to 19 days on this quest. Tick. Tick. Tick. There’s not enough time. I’m panicking, but I’m also relishing the deadline because I can’t avoid or ignore the Goodness Project now. I have to make this work.

Today, I’m also chafing under the burden of the too-careful review of  John Bradshaw’s Reclaiming Virtue that I posted yesterday.  I failed to convey the excitement I felt reading the book. Bradshaw’s work was like jumping into Lake Michigan where I used to swim as a kid. It was an awakening, a coming home and a chilling shock all at once. His acknowledgment of the role our emotional issues play in our ability to be virtuous, his careful program for tackling those issues, and his indictment of the rules-only, shame-the-child approach to morality ring true to me.  Bradshaw may have given me the jolt I need to actually answer my question about goodness. We’ll see.

Tick. Tick. Tick.

19 days and counting.

*********************

Please Like search for goodness on Facebook. Pretty please?

This entry was posted in Becoming Good, Practicing Goodness, psychology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 19 Days Left and More on Bradshaw

  1. Susan C says:

    Hi Diane! Have you heard much about the Film Documentary “I AM” by Tom Shadyac? It’s coming to Liberty Hall May 20. The buzz has been good so I went to the website to read up. This intrigued me: “It was a revelation to me that for tens of thousands of years, indigenous cultures taught a very different story about our inherent goodness,” Shadyac marvels. Hmmmm…his journey sounds interesting…
    Here’s the link for more info: http://www.iamthedoc.com/thefilm/
    Best, Susan

  2. dianesilver says:

    Thanks for the link. I’m going to have to check that out.

Leave a comment